Darkness Songs (1980; flute (picc., alto fl.), oboe (e.horn), piano (gong), percussion, doublebass, and narrator) for mixed chamber ensemble is based on 5 Native-American poems written primarily before the settlement of the United States. The narration can be performed by a separate narrator or each musician can take turns narrating the poetry as has been set out in the score (all musicians participate in the first and third movements). Each movement features music balanced by narrated poetry:

1. We Wait in the Darkness (Iroquois, N.Y.)

2. Prayer at Sunrise (Zuni, Southwest)

3. Our Hearts Are Set in the Heavens (Pawnee, Prairie)

4. The Sunset (Papago, Southwest)

5. We Are Singing in the Night (Papago, Southwest)

Listen to the opening movement below:

Review some of the score for movement 5: